University Partners  
About the Prize
Prize Winners
Media Room
University Partners
Contact Us


Gonzaga UniversityThe impulse to serve others is most likely to be fostered during a young adult's college years, and Catholic universities have a rich tradition and history of nurturing in their students a lifelong commitment to social justice.

The Opus Prize is awarded on college campuses, providing recipients an unparalleled opportunity to inspire the next generation of faith-based social entrepreneurs. Participating universities are encouraged to creatively integrate the Opus Prize conferral into their curricula so that students have a time to reflect upon and embrace the learning inspired by Prize recipients.

Members of the university community have the opportunity to participate in the nomination and selection process as participants on the University Oversight Committee. Students also accompany members of the foundation board on the due diligence visits with the nominees.

At every turn, the process of selecting and honoring the Opus Prize recipient is intended to be a learning and life-transforming experience for members of the university partner.


Gonzaga University Gonzaga University has provided more than 125 years of Jesuit, Catholic humanistic education to Spokane, the Northwest, the nation and the world. We seek to inspire our nearly 8,000 thoughtful, compassionate and well-prepared undergraduate and graduate students to improve the world with and for others.
Georgetown University Established in 1789, Georgetown is the nation's oldest Catholic and Jesuit university. Drawing upon this legacy, we provide students with a world-class learning experience focused on educating the whole person through exposure to different faiths, cultures and beliefs. With our Jesuit values and location in Washington, DC, Georgetown offers students a distinct opportunity to learn, experience and understand more about the world.
St. Catherine University St. Catherine University educates students to lead and influence. Inspired by its visionary founding in 1905 by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, the University serves diverse students, with a baccalaureate college for women at its heart; graduate and associate programs for women and men; and the liberal arts integrated throughout its programs.
Loyola Marymount University LMU is the largest Catholic university for undergraduates on the West Coast with nearly 5,800 undergraduate students and more than 3,000 graduate and law students. Founded in Los Angeles in 1911 as a Jesuit school and later merged with Marymount College, LMU is ranked third in “Best Regional Universities/West” by U.S. News & World Report.
Fordham University

Founded in 1841, Fordham is the Jesuit University of New York, offering exceptional education distinguished by the Jesuit tradition to approximately 14,700 students in its four undergraduate colleges and its six graduate and professional schools.

University of St. Thomas

The University of St. Thomas is a Catholic, comprehensive university that fosters a tradition of service to the public and an energetic, thoughtful approach to the challenges of contemporary life. To learn more about the University of St. Thomas’ partnership with the Opus Prize and the 2009 Recipients, visit the university’s Opus Prize microsite.

Seattle University

Founded in 1891, Seattle University is the largest and among the most diverse independent universities in the Northwest. Inspired by the Catholic intellectual tradition and the Jesuit ethos, Seattle University educates leaders for a just and humane world.

The Catholic University of America

Founded by the U.S. Catholic bishops in 1887 and chartered by Congress, The Catholic University of America, located in Washington, D.C., is unique as the national university of the Catholic Church in America. Today the private and coeducational campus has approximately 6,100 undergraduate and graduate students from all states and 97 countries enrolled in 12 schools.

The University of Notre Dame

The University of Notre Dame, founded in 1842 by a priest of the Congregation of Holy Cross, is an independent, national Catholic university located at Notre Dame, Indiana, adjacent to the city of South Bend.

Marquette University

Founded in 1881, Marquette University, a Catholic, Jesuit university located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, has been educating people of faith to be leaders in their professional lives, their communities and in society for more than 120 years.

The University of San Francisco

The University of San Francisco was established as the city of San Francisco's first institution of higher education by the Jesuit fathers in October 1855.